• Search
  • Lost Password?
Sharing our love for authors, and the stories they are inspired to tell.

Casino de Santiago Award 2010

The awards and accolades just keep on coming for Sarah Waters.

This time it is the Casino de Santiago European Novel Award 2010, for her novel ‘The Night Watch’.

The award aims to promote both, the joy of reading and a pro-European spirit. Any European novel is eligible to enter and the award is voted for, by the readers’ from the city of  Santiago de Compostela, Spain.

Buy This Book From Amazon

SynopsisFrom The Author Website

Tender and tragic, set against the turbulent backdrop of wartime Britain, The Night Watch is the extraordinary story of four Londoners: Kay, who wanders the streets in mannish clothes, restless and searching . . . Helen, who harbours a troubling secret . . . Viv, glamour girl, recklessly loyal to her soldier lover . . . and Duncan, an apparent innocent, struggling with demons of his own.

Moving back through the 1940s, through air raids, blacked-out streets, illicit liaisons and sexual adventure, to end with its beginning in 1941, this is an astonishing novel.

Written by

I can’t remember a time, even as a child, when I haven’t been passionate about books and reading.
I began blogging, when I realised just how many other people out there shared my passion for the written word and I have been continually amazed at the wealth of books that are available and the amount of great new friends I have made, from literally 'The Four Corners Of The World'.

View all articles
Written by Yvonne