• Search
  • Lost Password?
Sharing our love for authors, and the stories they are inspired to tell.

New Title Out February 2011 – ‘Death Of A Chimney Sweep’ by M.C. Beaton

Just to whet your appetite a little more, after getting your copy of ‘Agatha Raisin And The Busy Body’ signed by the author, M.C. Beaton, on November 13th 2010, you can now look forward to February 2011, when the 27th Hamish Macbeth mystery ‘Death Of A Chimney Sweep’ is revealed.


Buy This Book From Amazon


In the south of Scotland, residents get their chimneys vacuum-cleaned.
But in the isolated villages in the very north of Scotland, the villagers rely on the services of the itinerant sweep, Pete Ray, and his old-fashioned brushes.
Pete is always able to find work in the Scottish highlands, until one day when Police Constable Hamish Macbeth notices blood dripping onto the floor of a villager’s fireplace, and a dead body stuffed inside the chimney.
The entire town of Lochdubh is certain Pete is the culprit, but Hamish doesn’t believe that the affable chimney sweep is capable of committing murder.
Then Pete’s body is found on the Scottish moors, and the mystery deepens. Once again, it’s up to Hamish to discover who’s responsible for the dirty deed–and this time, the murderer may be closer than he realizes.
About The Author:

It’s so difficult to keep up with all the women who make up Marion Chesney.

She has penned under at least 7 pseudonyms and is a popular and extremely prolific writer, topping at least 200 titles under her various guises.

Marion was born in Scotland in 1936 and has always demonstrated her love of the written word, working amongst other things as a buyer of fiction for a Glasgow bookshop and a newspaper reporter and editor. She now divides her time between her homes in the English Cotswolds and Paris, France.

As herself, she is widely acclaimed as a leading author of historical romances, but it is as M.C. Beaton, that she is probably most well known to us, for her two best loved characters of Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin.

Hamish is a fictional police officer, who serves as the town of Lochdubh’s detective, in  a series of mystery novels.

Agatha is a retired, middle-aged, public-relations agent, who moves from London to the Cotswolds. Here, she solves murders, Miss Marple style until, later in the series, opening her own detective agency.


I know that February is still a way off, but by clicking on the book image, you can pre-order your copy now, then relax and wait for it to arrive.

Written by

I can’t remember a time, even as a child, when I haven’t been passionate about books and reading.
I began blogging, when I realised just how many other people out there shared my passion for the written word and I have been continually amazed at the wealth of books that are available and the amount of great new friends I have made, from literally 'The Four Corners Of The World'.

View all articles
Written by Yvonne